Main, Salad

MBC aka (pre)Marathon Buffalo Chicken (not wings)

Okay, I have a confession to make. This isn’t really a pre-Marathon dish, only if by marathon you mean marathon drinking session, because in that case this would be great for those who are planning on a big night out. But I’m not. I just love it. So decided to treat myself (and 4 others) with this heavenly manna.

It doesn’t look trendy, nor healthy or matter of fact good but man, it’s tasty!

IMG_2894.JPG

I have tried lots of different buffalo chicken wings and the best ones always had an amazing, silky, mouthwatering coating on them which I could NEVER replicate. Which always used to make me feel like I had been cast out of the culinary heaven. But with this recipe I found my way back and I’m planning to never leave again. Therefor I felt like I really needed some ‘greens’ to make my inside voices shut up, who were demanding healthy, bikiny-body food. So I made a little salad to go with the chicken, which got very close to stealing the show. I would definitely recommend to ditch the blue cheese dip and go with my option. It’s sesame-y, it’s delish and it’s healthy.

So what you need (for 4 servings):

For the chicken:

  • 600g boneless chicken tights
  • Frank’s Hot Sauce
  • 200g + 3 tsp of flour
  • 1 tsp smoked paprika
  • 1 tsp chilli powder
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 5 tbs butter
  • 1 tsp of baking powder
  • frying oil (enough for deep-frying)

For the salad:

  • 1 clove of garlic
  • 2 tbs ricewine vinegar
  • 3 tbs soy sauce
  • 2 tbs honey
  • 4 tbs sesame oil
  • 20g sesame seeds
  • 1 bag of spinach

I always start with heating up the frying oil because my shitty hob isn’t the hottest when it comes to actually cooking. I used a mid-size pan (because I forgot to buy an additional bottle of oil and the thighs need to be deep-fried).

Mix in a bowl the flour, the spices and the seasoning and coat the chicken thighs. I chopped the them in half to speed up the cooking process. When the oil is hot enough fry the chicken in portions for 4 minutes each side and then transfer them onto a baking tray, and bake them for 15 minutes on 200 degrees.

While the chicken babies are in the oven (wow this looks worse in writing than how it sounds) heat up the butter and once it’s melted and bubbly add 3 tsp of flour (I didn’t measure it so therefor the tsp instead of grams) and whisk it as if your life depends on it. After a minute or two add 3/4 bottle of the hot sauce and keep whisking. Add the baking powder. And this is when the magic happens. The sauce will bubble up and will became sort of foamy. If you feel like it’s a bit too thick add a couple of table spoons of water or milk.

Take out the chicken and coat it with the sauce, try to make sure they don’t cover each other and pop them back in the oven for another 5-10 mins.

Let’s get this shit rolling, so quickly mix the soy sauce, sesame oil, rice wine vinegar, honey and grated garlic in a salad bowl and add the washed(!) spinach to it. Mix it well and sprinkle it with sesame seeds.

By now the chicken should be ready, pop them on a plate with the salad and waaaaitforit:

Enjoy!

Ps.: Feel free to leave comments, share and like!

Leave a Reply

