Dessert, Snack

Uninspired Dessert

Lemme tell you something. There are three things that I cannot resist in life. No. 1 puppies. But (un)fortunately you can’t eat puppies.

No. 2 would be chips – which I can indeed unfortunately eat, but if it comes to chips I’m an old fashioned, frozen-chips  (strictly the thin ones) kinda gal.

No. 3 is cheesecake – which I couldn’t make even if my life depended on it. I’m not a baker, fortunately.

But I do have a few tricks up my sleeves. And one of them is as old as my jokes: marrying vanilla with apple and cinnamon. This is the perfect combination of delicious heaven, it’s  a childhood favourite with a twist.

What you’ll need (for 4 servings):

1 cup of white rice
2.5 cups of milk
2 tsp vanilla extract
1 apple diced (granny smith)
2 – 3 tbs of honey – depending on how much of a sweet-tooth you are
1 good pinch of salt
1 tbs butter
Cinnamon
It’s easy like 1×1. Especially if you know how to cook rice… If you don’t, you’re in trouble.

However to show my appreciation for taking your time reading this stupid ‘rice-pe’ (for Christ’s sake I can’t be this tired…) I’m willing to share the wisdom.

Take a sauce pan. Chuck your rice in there, with the milk. Add the salt. Turn on the heat on medium until it comes to a boil. At this point turn the heat to the minimum, cover the pan with a lid (or a plate if you don’t have a lid) and cook it for 20-25 minutes. Try not to lift the lid, because we need ‘my precious’ steam for the cooking process.

When your 6th sense says it that it’s cooked add the vanilla, the peeled and diced apple,  the honey and the butter. Mix it well and cook it for another 5 minutes.

Scoop it into bowls, sprinkle over some cinnamon and some honey.

Enjoy!

Ps.: Feel free to share, comment and like!

Leave a Reply

