Beef, Healthy, Main, Slow Cooked

‘I’ll Cheer You Up!’ Brisket

There are definitely enjoyable ways of making love to protein – Yes Ági, ‘making love’! Being a radical sarcastic I would have never thought that I would actually say let alone write down the phrase ‘making love’. But when it comes to slow-cooked-melting-in-the-mouth brisket I’m a hopeless romantic.

But honestly, who would say no to a piece of delicious heaven which takes about 10 minutes to prepare and the list of ingredients are just as short too? Not me for sure. However, you definitely would want to prepare this ahead, because it takes up to 4-5 hours to actually cook the best. So what I usually do is just get it in the slow cooker after I get home from work and let it cook while I (finally not day) dream about it.

IMG_3135_Fotor

If I wasn’t on a bloody diet I would have either have them in tiny tacos or with chips but for now, those stayed in the Land of Amazing Carbs and Other Delicious Foods.

What you need (for 4 servings – since it takes loooong to cook, hence slow cooked, I always make twice the amount):
•0.75 kg brisket
•2 stock cubes
•2 red onions
•5-6 cloves of garlic
•1 tsp cumin
•1 tbs zatar (Turkish seasoning and my ABSOLUTE favourite)
•1 tsp smoked paprika powder
•1 tbs mustard powder
•1.5 tsp salt
•1 tsp pepper
•1 pint of coke (I used ‘diet’ coke, but feel free to use ‘normal’ should you still have self-respect whatsoever)
•Oil to seal the meat

Heat up a pan that can fit the piece of brisket. It has to be as hot as possible. Add a few tablespoons of oil and brown all the sides of the brisket – about 1-2 minutes each side until they’re golden brown. Place the meat in either a slow cooker if you have one or in a big roasting pan.

Mix 1 pint (or half a litre) water with the stock cubes – usually I just get a small saucepan and bring the water to boil so the cubes melt. Mix it with the rest of seasoning and pour it over the brisket.

Peel the onions and garlic and chop up the onions into 4 pieces or so. Don’t bother with the garlic, just chuck them in the slow cooker/roasting pan.
Cooking time as I mentioned earlier is about 4.30 -5 hours per 0.75 kg on 120 degrees under a lid.

Once you’ve tried and tested and as melty as you imagined serve it with your favourite side dish!

Enjoy!

Ps.: Feel free to share, comment and like!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

